Building the front page website for the internet

I have a new project, and here are my notes.

If I had to describe it in one sentence, it would be something like, “a website to share stories with friends”. But of course I’m making it much more complex. :smiley:

Who?

Okay, who is involved in this?

Well, if you are reading this, you probably are. But I doubt you are reading for that level of self-affirmation, so I’ll explain. Oh, this would be a good time to tell a story of me trying to “network” at a mansion party. :face_with_monocle:

Haha, not much of a story, that’s it! I tried, and I’m gonna say: failed!

As a freelancer, my main point of contact is my email: support@maiki.xyz. That’s my actual email, see how freely I give it out!

But networking in the Bay Area, in 2023, at mansions, revolves around scanning QR codes from LinkedIn. And then… well, nothing (except the spam they will all send each other as “influencers”, but that’s another story…). They won’t, ya know, socialize. I know, because I asked them!

One person has 19,000, um, “connections” on LinkedIn. The way they explained it to me stuck with me, along the lines of, “since I was in college I’m been connecting to every person I meet. It’s like a Pokedex, these are all the people I ‘caught’ while networking”.

:laughing:

I do like the idea of a just a collection of contact info from folks! It’s kinda wild how difficult it is to get that done. :person_shrugging:

Anyhow, that mansion thing was the prelude of a week of networking at a conference for community managers, where many folks were looking for work, so it was constant LinkedIn scans all around me.

Hmmm, did I feel left out? :thinking:

Yes! And gratefully so. I seriously can’t stand distractions on the level of the LinkedIn platform.

But it also showed me the dire condition “networking” around me was in, and unfortunately the Bay Area has a lot of influence on the rest of the world (probably because of all those pesky influencers!).